Les événements actuels

Aucun événement à venir

Evénements à venir

FMJD

La fédération Mondiale des Jeux de Dames (FMJD, www.fmjd.org)  a été fondée en 1947 par quatre fédérations, celles de la France, des Pays-Bas, de la Belgique et de la Suisse. Sa mission principale était de réguler les compétitions lors des championnats internationaux.

Bien que des champions du monde aient été proclamés dès 1897 en France et aux Pays-Bas, l’augmentation du nombre de pays et le désir d’avoir des compétitions plus régulières ont donné de l’essor à cette organisation internationale. Depuis ses tous débuts, la FMJD s’est agrandie et elle est composée à présent de presque cinquante fédérations nationales participantes.

La FMJD est devenue membre de SportAccord, l’association de tutelle pour tous les sports reconnus internationalement en tant que disciplines olympiques ou non – comme dans le cas du jeu de Dames – . De ce fait, la FMJD fait partie d’un mouvement plus général (celui de la FIDE (échecs) et de la WBF (bridge) qui intègre les sports cérébraux dans l’arène des sports ordinaires, une extension que la vision de la FDJM souhaite prôner.

Les compétitions pour le titre mondial se sont déroulés avec régularité, la succession de titres de champions du monde n’a jamais été interrompue depuis la date de sa création. La lutte bilatérale entre la France et les Pays-Bas s’est transformée en lutte internationale, dans laquelle le Canada et l’Union Soviétique sont entrées en 1956, produisant ainsi des champions issus des quatre coins du monde.

En 1963 le monde a vu un challenger sénégalais pour le titre, qui est en effet devenu champion du monde. Les Pays-Bas ont poursuivi leurs tentatives pour obtenir le titre le plus haut, et pendant les décennies suivantes, la lutte se tenait entre les Pays-Bas et l’Union soviétique. Après la chute du régime soviétique, la Russie a continué de dominer les championnats du monde, le titre a été remis en cause seulement par un succès occasionnel de la Lettonie. Histoire des Titres mondiaux

La FMJD a progressivement élargi son champ d’activités : des championnats pour les femmes ont été introduits en 1973, en 1971 pour les juniors, en 1988 pour les cadets et en 1989 pour les filles. Les championnats par équipe, appelés « Olympiades » ont débuté en 1967 pour les seniors, puis en 1987 pour les juniors. Solidement installée en Europe, la FMJD organise des championnats européens depuis 1965.

Plus tard, les activités sur les autres continents sont aussi devenues plus importantes, et actuellement des tournois continentaux ont lieu en Europe, Afrique, Asie et Amérique. Pour ce système de tournois, la FMJD a développé des confédérations continentales qui s’occupent de toutes les compétitions au niveau du continent. Récemment, en Europe, des championnats individuels – tant pour les seniors que pour les jeunes, ont été complétés par des compétitions de clubs internationaux.

D’autres compétitions sont sous l’égide de la FMDJ. Il y a une commission spéciale pour la création et la solution de problèmes  (la CPI), mais il y a aussi des performances spéciales tels que des jeux simultanés, des jeux simultanés à l’aveugle et des démonstration qui sont réalisées sous la coordination de la FMDJ. Internet devient de plus en plus important, tant pour le jeu que pour le relais de l’information, et le site web de la FMDJ (www.fmjd.org) tient un rôle instrumental.

La structure organisationnelle de la FMJD a été renouvelée il y a peu de temps. La FMJD accueille maintenant trois sections qui présentent les principales variantes du jeu de Dames. La section principale concerne la version internationale, composée de 100 cases, utilisée par et dans toutes les fédérations participantes.

Deux versions plus anciennes de ce sport se jouent  sur un plateau de 64 cases. La version russe/brésilienne est la version folk, elle est présente dans presque tous les pays de l’ex-Union Soviétique, ainsi qu’au Brésil. On retrouve la version « checkers » principalement dans la zone anglo-américaine et dans les anciennes colonies anglaises à travers le monde. Ces deux variantes ont maintenant leur propre section et elles utilisent leur propre système lors des championnats internationaux.

Le président, le vice-président exécutif, le secrétaire général, le trésorier et les administrateurs des tournois de la FDJM  dans leur ensemble sont également au service de ce jeu au niveau international. Ces membres sont choisis par l’Assemblée Générale, l’organe principal de la FMJD, pour un mandat qui dure en principe quatre ans. Cette équipe est complétée par les présidents des confédérations continentales et par les présidents des 64 sections.

Le bureau  commun de la FMJD est situé à Orteliusstraat 147hs, 1057 AX, Amsterdam, Pays-Bas avec comme chef du bureau des projets le grand maître Johan Bastiaannet.

Depuis 2009, le président de la FMJD est Harry Otten.

Nouvelles

Ladies and gentleman, let the games begin!

Ongoing events

No upcoming events

Upcoming events

  • European Blitz and Rapid Championship

    29.11.2019 - 30.11.2019

    European Blitz and Rapid Championship 2019, men and women, will be held in Netanya, Israel, on 29th and 30th November. All applicants should provide applications before October 15, 2019. See the whole Regulation at the link: european-championship-blitz-rapid-2019 Coordinators contact: yacovshaus@gmail.com …

    Read more…

FMJD

The World Draughts Federation (FMJD, www.fmjd.org) was founded in 1947 by four federations, France, the Netherlands, Belgium and Switzerland. Its main purpose was to regulate the competition on the world championship.

Though from 1897 onwards world champions had been proclaimed, between France and the Netherlands, the growth of the number of countries and the desire to have a more regular competition gave rise to this international organization. From this early start, the FMJD grew to close to fifty participating national federations it has at present.

FMJD has become a member of SportAccord, the umbrella organization for all internationally recognized sports, Olympic and – in the case of draughts – non Olympic. As such, the FMJD membership (and that of the FIDE and WBF (bridge) is part of a more general movement towards integration of mind sports in the regular sports arenas, a development that in the vision of the FMJD is to be lauded.

The competition for the world title has been going on with regularity, the succession of world champions unbroken since the founding days. The bilateral struggle between France and the Netherlands changed into a multilateral struggle, in which Canada and the Soviet Union entered in 1956, producing champions from different corners of the world.

In 1963 the world saw a Senegalese challenger for the title, who indeed became world champion. The Netherlands continued their bid for the highest title, and in the following decades the struggle was on between the Netherlands and the Soviet Union. After the fall of the Soviet regime, Russia continued to dominate the world championship, challenged only by the occasional success by Latvia. History of World Titles

The FMJD has gradually widened its scope of activities: championships of women were introduced in 1973, for juniors in 1971, cadets in 1988 and girls in 1989. Team championships, called “Olympiads” started in 1967 for the senior players, and in 1987 for the juniors. Based solidly in Europe, the FMJD organized European championships since 1965.

Later, the activities in the other continents became more important, and continental tournaments nowadays are held in Europe, Africa, Asia and America. For this latter system of tournaments, the FMJD has developed continental confederations, to take care of all competitions at the continent level. Recently, in Europe, the individual championships, – for seniors as well as for youth, have been complemented by international club competitions.

Other competitions are under the aegis of the FMJD as well. The making of problems as well as problem solving, have their own Commission (CPI), but also special performances such as simultaneous games, blind simultaneous games, and exhibitions are performed under the FMJD umbrella. The internet is increasingly important, both for playing and for relaying information, and the FMJD website (www.fmjd.org) is instrumental.

The organizational structure of the FMJD has been renewed recently. The FMJD now houses three sections representing the major variant of draughts play. The main section is the international draughts, on the 100 squares board, played in and by all participating federations.

Two older versions of the sport are played on the 64 squares board. The Russian/Brazilian variant is the folk variant in almost all former Soviet countries, plus Brazil. The checkers variant is mainly based in the Anglo-American area and former English colonies throughout the world. Both variants now have their own section and operate their own system of world championship.

The president, executive vice-president, general secretary, treasurer and tournament directors of the FMJD as a whole serve also for the international game. These officers are chosen by the General Assembly, the governing body of the FMJD, with a mandate of in principle four years. The board being completed by the presidents of the continental confederations and the presidents of both 64 sections.

The joint FMJD office is in, Orteliusstraat 147hs, 1057 AX, Amsterdam, Netherlands, with as bureau chief draughts and problematics grandmaster Johan Bastiaannet.

Janek Mäggi

Since 2017, the President of FMJD is Janek Mäggi.

News

  • Minutes of the EDC Executive Board Meeting n. 1 – 2019

    05.10.2019

    The EDC Executive Board Meeting n. 1 – 2019 (of the Executive Board elected on 03.08.2019) Rome, 28th September 2019, in the headquarters of the Italian National Olympic Committee (CONI), in Largo Lauro de Bosis n. 15, the first Meeting …

    Read more…

  • Minutes of EDC General Assembly of 3rd August 2019

    04.10.2019

    During the 1st Meeting of EDC Executive Board (EB), the EB has ratified unanimously the protocol (minutes of General Assembly) edited by Jan Zioltkowski and Ingrida Drukteynite. Here attached. 2019-08-03_EDC_GA_minutes

    Read more…

  • 18th European Veteran Championships

    26.09.2019

    18th European Veteran Championships have been held in Korbach (Ger) from 31st August to 7th September 2019. The Championships have been organized by the Germany Interessengemeinschaft Damespiel in Deutschland, leaded from its President, Jan Zioltkowski, member of EDC Executive Board, …

    Read more…

  • European Teams Championships 2019

    26.09.2019

    European Teams Championships 2019 – Chianciano Terme (ITA) 2nd – 7th September 2019 On Saturday 7th September, the 2019 European Team Championships organized by the Italian Draughts Federation under the auspices of the European Damaging Confederation (EDC) were concluded. The …

    Read more…

  • 21st European Children & Youth Championship Results

    10.08.2019

    Warsaw (POL). 21st European Children & Youth Championship 2019, 1st-9th August 2019, with the Blitz and Rapids (8th and 9th August) ended an exiting Campionship, very well organising by the Polski Związek Warcabowy . The whole results (final standings, tournament …

    Read more…

Ladies and gentleman, let the games begin!